PVOutput to Home Assistant

Hi, Im VERY new to Home Assistant but been using PVOutput for years. I read somewhere recently but can’t remember where that its possible to make a action like turn on a smart switch based on solar production figures or household consumption. What I would like to do is when I’m exporting my surplus production to the grid a signal be sent to turn on a smart switch which I intend having a battery charger plugged into. Can anyone help please.
I’m not a programmer and I’m strugging at the moment with Home Assistant. I’ve managed to get a basic PVOutput display working on it.

Try the Watson Holmes smart switch about £25 each on eBay

Can’y find anything, Even googling it. I tried Holmes & Homes in case you miss typed it.

It shouldn’t be a hard thing to do, but I don’t think the PV Output component in Home Assistant has importing/exporting status, so first you’d need a way to determine that.

What you’d need is to be able to poll your solar inverter and get the data from there, and maybe make a binary sensor that can be either importing or exporting. From there, it would be a simple automation for the smart switch. If exporting, then turn on switch, otherwise turn off switch.

The best place to ask for this would be on the Home Assistant community forum. You’d get better support, and some may be able to help you out with getting the data from your inverter if there isn’t already a component for it.

Cheers. Bit it one thing saying it should be simple & another actually achieving it. I’ve messaged 2 members of this forum who have posted on threads relevant to what I’m after doing but have had no reply.

Hey There. Yes I have done this but slightly different to the way you are implying.

I have current sensing clamps on my switch board
3 phase therefore 3 CT clamps from grid power (install after meter)
3 phase therefore 3 CT clamps from inverter

I have sensors that monitor the Gen vs Use to give a surplus or deficit